Airbnb Guest Stories

These are the most recent 25 stories from real Airbnb Guests.  Read More Airbnb Guest Stories.

VRBO

Memorable Anniversary Hell on an Airbnb Boat

We had an issue with a host. She flatly refused to offer assistance. The result was a prematurely short weekend – a memorable experience for sure – and the loss of almost $400 in Airbnb payments. We simply wanted what was fair, and we got a “we’ll gladly reduce your next stay by 25%.” What […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Cheating Host Supported by Airbnb Customer Service

The Airbnb accommodation I booked was garbage. It was based in a slum of Ipanema and incorrectly displayed on the map on the listing, miles away from seaside. The taxi driver from the airport was more useless in finding the address than our telephone. He called Mari (the Airbnb owner). She guided the taxi driver after he was reluctant to go into that area, […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | 3 Comments

No Compensation for Trouble with Host and House

I’ve been an avid Airbnb user for a while now, paying for around nine consecutive months in my travels. I used to trust the service and recommend it to anyone. I recently booked a new place. The listing said it was for two people, a private room with one bedroom and six beds.  I messaged […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Nonexistent Host Still has Friendly Neighbours

I live in the north of Belgium, close to the Dutch border. I booked a nice looking single room for two nights, approximately 50 minutes drive time from where I live. It was the cheapest accommodation in that area. I used Instant Book because I had never had any trouble reaching hosts before. The host, ‘Anna’, had been […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Filthy Bed, Soiled Bed Linen = Airbnb Unfit for Use

This was my first experience at using Airbnb for accommodation in Sydney, Australia near Elizabeth Bay because so many places were booked solid. This will probably be my last time too. The place looked cute in the pictures, but when I arrived it was completely unclean. It was an old 1960’s apartment that was tidy, […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , , | 1 Comment

NYC Apartments Illegally Converted to Rent on Airbnb

I am a tenant in a rent-controlled residential apartment building in New York City. Our landlady has evicted several tenants under the guise she needs the apartment unit for family members. Once they had been vacated, the landlady brought in IKEA furniture and set up the units for Airbnb guests. The new state laws allow for short-term […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | 1 Comment

Host Cancelled Ten Days Before our South African Trip

We made reservations for three days in Simon’s Town (near Cape Town), with plans to go shark diving. We also have two little kids, so it was fairly important that a particular location was large enough; we also wanted a pool for the kids. The reservation was made three months before the scheduled trip dates. Ten […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | 1 Comment

Back to Student Dorm Living with Airbnb Drama

Our arrival started out with a search for towels and toilet paper. We found one towel in the bathroom cabinet and one in the dryer, and those were all the towels we could find at that moment. We couldn’t find any toilet paper (even the holder in the bathroom was empty) after searching the whole apartment […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Awful and Stressful Experience Contacting Airbnb

The host was unreachable. I booked this reservation for my 21-year-old son. The host did not leave a building key and promised to let my son in by buzzing him in through his cell phone. My son was left out in the freezing cold a few days in a row because the host would not respond. […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Airbnb’s Insurance Policy Doesn’t Protect Guests

In February, our Airbnb rental in Mexico was burglarized. The police came and a report was filed. All told, between two couples, we lost over $4500 of our possessions. The owner was very helpful; he filed a claim with his insurance company, which was denied about two weeks later because we were renters. Our personal homeowner’s […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Left out in the Rain with no Customer Service

I was going to Houston for a wedding. Because the official wedding hotel was the uber fancy St. Regis, I figured I would book an Airbnb across the street instead to save some money. What a mistake that was… There were bad omens from the start. Just checking in required me to get the keys […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Unprofessional, Rude, and Unhelpful Customer Service

My partner and I had confirmed a reservation for a modest accommodation in Brentford. It was small; however, it suited our needs due to the location and all amenities. I had been in touch with the host, Gurneet, and we had spoken throughout my booking and afterwards. Gurneet asked yesterday if we’d be able to […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | 2 Comments

Unstable Airbnb Host in Executive Suite on Sarasota Bay

My host’s name is Yvonne based in North Sarasota. This place is a Airbnb train wreck. Do not give her any money. The property is in a beautiful spot, however it’s also in foreclosure. She is looking for folks with money so she can “get a personal loan” ($20k+) to bail her out on her other defaults (yes, it’s […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | 2 Comments

Airbnb Raw Sewage Nightmare over Spring Break

We had our vacationed ruined by Airbnb and a host who was an absolute nightmare. Upon arrival at our condo we opened the door to an overwhelming smell of raw sewage. I’m not talking about a slightly unpleasant smell but a “you had to cover your face and eyes watering” smell. The condo looked nothing […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Overcharged Payments with Currency Exchange

I have been overcharged by Airbnb over and over again. I have just booked accommodations in Italy and was quoted the price in USD. However, I was charged in YTL despite not having any bank account connected to Turkey in my Airbnb account. Airbnb converts the amount to a foreign currency and takes a hefty commission […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Disgusting Airbnb Stay in Florida, Still no Refund

My fiancé and I had booked a home hosted by Huafeng in Kissimmee, Florida. We booked the property for February 27th to March 6th, 2017. We had a total of seven guests staying there. Four of our guests showed one day early on Monday, February 27th, 2017 to check in the day before my fiancé and I […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | 2 Comments

Two Months Bouncing Around Airbnb Misery

My nightmare began in early February. I’d moved back to Chicago, having completed law school there in January 2017. I initially found a great and cheap sublet in Lincoln Square for January. Unfortunately, the tenant returned from traveling abroad in early February and Airbnb was my best alternative. I didn’t have time to go apartment […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | 5 Comments

Host Requires Direct Deposit for Confirmed Reservation

I have been traveling in New Zealand and using Airbnb. I have used Airbnb in the US, Europe and now New Zealand. Until now I have had good experiences with all my hosts, until I stayed with Richard in Rotorua. I made reservations through Airbnb and they were accepted by the host. On the day […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Nor’easter Doesn’t Count as Extenuating Circumstances

My flight got cancelled to Boston due to the Nor’easter that hit the city on March 14th. Thinking I could beat the storm, I booked an Airbnb for the night before the storm. That night my flight got cancelled and I tried to cancel my Airbnb post. The hosts had a strict cancellation policy and I […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | 2 Comments

Ring Stolen by Host Leads to Customer Service Nightmare

I rented a condo in Panama City Beach, Florida in January 2017 to visit an old friend with terminal cancer. Upon arrival, everything was fine. When I returned home I realized a diamond ring that belonged to my late sister-in-law was missing. As you may imagine I was sick. I have never lost anything and […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | 4 Comments

Not even a Response from Airbnb Customer Service

Don’t trust the information on the Airbnb website. I have had three good experiences with Airbnb in Australia so I thought I would use it for a recent overseas trip. Two of the four were terrible. The Dublin accommodation did not mention it was a very old building with no lift and the room was on […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | 2 Comments

Airbnb Scam: Blaming Guests for Bleaching Sheets

I stayed in a very nice Airbnb in Majorca a few weeks ago. Everything went perfectly and our hosts were very helpful. However, after giving them a good review, we had problems arise. The host claimed that we bleached some towels and pillowcases, and was requesting $361 CAD as compensation. After dealing with Airbnb instead […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Not Able to Find Airbnb Host, Cancelled Stay in Dublin

I booked an Airbnb in Dublin, outside the city center I believe. I drove because I thought I could stop somewhere and ask for directions. I had Googled the trip directions and followed them. About 7 km from the destination things went wrong. At a cafe I rang the host for assistance. She basically left […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | 2 Comments

Tenant Hijacks Property, Airbnb Refuses to Help

I’m not really a guest. I am an owner whose tenant decided to operate an Airbnb even though it violated his lease and is a breach of our agreement. When we asked Airbnb to take the property down from their site they refused, indicating their arrangement with our tenant and stating only the tenant can take it […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | 2 Comments

Host Cancelled my Long-Term Booking in Sri Lanka

Last November I booked a long term stay in Sri Lanka. I wanted to stay for ten weeks in order to have some time to write, as well as to look at properties to buy as I hope to move there eventually. I found the perfect place, booked from June through mid-August, and all seemed […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | 8 Comments

 

Read More Airbnb Guest Stories.

Do you have an Airbnb story to tell?  Share it HERE!

 


VRBO

43 Comments

  1. Pingback: Better Read This Before You Use Airbnb for the First Time

  2. Pingback: Airbnb’s Elephant in the Room | Spirit by Design

  3. I’m another who had a HORRIBLE experience with Air BnB. Me and my boyfriend showed up to the Air BnB that we rented in Montreal, which had great reviews online. The first night, we went out and when we came home later in the evening, placed our keys on the glass table and chatted with 2 friends. No TV was on. No music was on. The host came over and knocked on the door… Prior to this he hadn’t even told us he lived next door and actually went out of his way to pretend he didn’t… coming from around the street any time he met us. We said ok and kicked out our guests (Thanks, DAD.) but continued to chat, just us 2. The owner came over a second time to tell us to shut up. Ok, fine, we went to bed. The next day, he came back again and chastised us for the night before, again we apologized and he said fine but I’m doing an inspection to make sure you didn’t put holes in the walls, etc. I offered to leave for the second night we had booked and he said whatever. We booked a hotel and left right away- losing the money that we had paid for the second night in this Air bnb. I should also note that at 6am, there was extremely loud banging on the walls, screaming from children and children running non-stop, ALL DAY. The host then proceeded to text message me extremely rude things, asking where I lived and where I was in Montreal that night and was telling me that even though he did indeed say the place was fine and he had the keys, that he was calling the cops. I still have no idea why. Overall, pretty much our entire trip was ruined- we were broke after having to find another place; the first night was ruined cause we were literally told to go to bed (with the assumption that we’d be on the street if we didn’t soon) and the next day was annoying and very unpleasant with the children sounding like they were hanging out in the apartment with us; the host even managed to blacken the second day when we were finally far away from him, by harassing me via text.

    • It’s almost like you’re sugar coating or leaving out some information. Were you allowed to have guests over? In my home, guests are not allowed. Like most hotels, unauthorized guests are a liability. Not to mentioned non paying guests staying overnight. Then you say he came over to shut you up. So that tells me you were being an unruly guest. Many times guests just don’t read the house rules.

  4. Hello!
    This is second notice we have sent to Airbnb and still no any actions… if they are not acting then this letter we will send to another institutions in Spain.
    Decided to inform you regarding one of our hosts where we stayed before.
    Yury Geraskin in Barcelona, Carrer de Biscaia 383, floor 4.
    These are several reasons you to know about this host for your own security:
    1. He stays in Spain illegally (no any documents to stay in Spain and overstayed his visa more than a year).
    2. Not paying taxes to government to do this activity (can be caught any moment by neighbors complaint).
    3. Selling for cash to AirBnB clients who decided to stay more in his apartment.

    He can be caught by police any moment and all of Airbnb guests will lose their living for what they have paid!

    Hope you can make AirBnB more secure.
    Tnx!

  5. The photos of properties are often phony, from years ago when the property was new, etc. Do not trust them or the hosts. When we arrived in Los Angeles the property was so bad I was not sure it was the place I booked.
    The host was dishonest about the property and Airbnb promised a full refund and I received nothing.

    Stay away or somewhere you can trust.

  6. I stayed in an airbnb in St Andrews, Scotland. The host said he would be away and that the house might not be so tidy. he was right. The place was filthy. I was unsure which room to sleep in and there was a see through curtain on the window, no bedding. I did have my own sleeping back. I notified airbnb. No response. The host wrote a fairly abrupt response on his site. No action was taken. However, other guests complained about the exact same issues. Five months on and no one has taken any action. An apology would have been nice.

  7. My gf created a account in a year before, after few times the account has been blocked and we call hundred Times to the customer service. Due this year, I reopened a new account, after two booking, the account have been blocked AGAIN!!! Airbnb is nothing but a piece of crap. A year passed We try to contact with Airbnb to solve this issue, and the result is the same as last year, very disppointed, I mean how this rubbish can operate for so long, delete it. If you finally wake up.

  8. When logged in, prices are higher and a service fee is attached. When not, the prices are lower and no service fee.

    • That’s because when you’re not logged in it shows you the minimum price that listing will cost.
      Our winter rates for January are the lowest so unless you log in you can’t see the current prices or the prices for July our mist expensivery month when due to local events we charge almost double what we charge in January.
      Also our weekend rate for example is higher than weekdays as it puts a damper on our plans.
      It’s not false advertising. Airline ads do send out rates as low as or starting at let’s say $199 and you go on their site to deep that the $199 is for today or tomorrow only and if you need to fly a week from now the full price is higher.

  9. Had a horrible experience 3 weeks ago in Tuscany. Property had good reviews and turned out to be a total dump and airbnb has been less than helpful. We did everything right, have facts on our side and they are actually ignorning us completely – no refund for us it seems. Acting like we did something wrong or had wrong expectations. I have lived on 4 continents, have stayed in everything from camp sites to youth hostelf and 5 star hotels – I know what I should be paying for decent lodging. I thought airbnb was a reputable company…they are scam artists and amateurs.

  10. I had a terrible experience just recently. I booked a dog-friendly cottage, and notified host I would be bringing my very well-behaved pet. The 4 night stay was paid for, plus a cleaning fee. She also required a $325 deposit. The day of arrival she had been at the cottage but did not stay to meet us. There was a lockbox, so we let ourselves in. On the table inside was a list of house rules, that also stated that the dishwasher and washer-dryer were not working, and that she had a “very bad ant problem.”. None of this was mentioned prior to our arrival. On the second page was a paragraph “agreement” (that we had no notice she would require) stating she needed an additional $100 deposit, and that she would charge if the pet damaged anything. I did not sign it, nor did I call or contact AirBnb about the defects in her property. The stay was okay – except for a trail of ants waking me up and crawling all over me in the bed!!! And not being able to wash and dry my clothes after outdoor activities. etc. (BTW, We had no food or drink near the bed. I dealt with the ants. I did not launch a complaint.) Before leaving, we washed and dried every dish used. We wiped down counters and sinks We hung up towels. We got rid of all trash, even removing entirely from the property dog waste from the yard and cat waste that was not our responsibility – she had not outdoor trash so we actually carted it away. We folded blankets and put them away. Despite paying a cleaning fee, we cleaned everything we could. There was no vacuum or mop in the house. I would have even popped the linens in the washer, but we were told not to use it. We left everything where we found it. Two days later I received a claim and statement from her that our dog peed in her house and it was “trashed” and she was demanded our $325 deposit. I was completely befuddled. My dog has never urinated in any house or hotel, and I have had him 6 years. And he was with us 100% of the time. She posted a photo of a smudge on the floor wax to “prove” he had. What she did not know is that he is a large male dog who lifts his leg and if he peed in her house, it would have been all over the walls or furniture! She also claimed we put a scratch in her new refrigerator and on her counter. I don’t believe we did this, and she has no proof that we did. For this, and cleaning, she demands $325. The claim was nutty, and I engaged in online back and forth with her. The claim is in now in AirBnB’s hands, but as a responsible person, who has stayed in dozens of hotels and non-AirBnB rentals with my dog, with zero problems, this whole process has been infuriating. She saw a smudge in her floor wax, made an incorrect assumption, and went looking for problems. And this was my first AirBnB rental. Sigh. My daughter has used without issue. But this has unnerved me. It makes me want to stay in hotels and use bona-fide vacation rental properties, which have a proper process in place, and professional management. With AirBnB, you are dealing with individuals, who have wildly varying mental health,, temperametns, and expectations, and often zero professionalism, because of the nature of the business. It’s just too much risk.

  11. As an airbnb host I have come to see that Airbnb is 100% about making money, not responsible hosting.

    – Reviews are unreliable, they are only published if both parties make a review so if either party suspects they will get a bad review they simply don’t make one.

    – In Ecuador, where we host, permission must be obtained from the local authorities to rent or offer hospitality, which means they must adhere to certain standards and pay yearly fees and taxes and are accountable if guests have any complaints.
    Airbnb take no responsibility to ensure their listings are legal and continue to list properties that have been reported as illegal all over Ecuador, these properties are mostly run by expat retirees looking for a little extra income. In the meantime, due to the enormous success of Airbnb they are putting local legitimate business’s out of business

    – Their cancellation policies are ineffective, as a small business we rely upon and work hard to keep our rentals occupied and consequently chose a strict cancellation policy, yet our guests were able to cancel their reservation ONE DAY before the start of the second month of their reservation and even though the house was left like a pig-sty and things were stolen we were unable to give a review because the reservation was cancelled! And even if we had been able to make the review it would not have been published if they had not made a counter review.

    • thank you for the information. I am looking to rent a house in Puerto Ric i. Is there a way to check to see if they have listed with the town/ agency?
      Also, this one I like has no reviews listed, good or bad, should I be concerned? And if you have any suggestions on a how to verify the legitimacy of the renter I’d greatly appreciate it.

    • That’s not true. Each party has 14 days to submit a review and after each party submits their review, it is automatically published. If only one party leaves a review, after 14 days, it is published whether the other party has left a review or not.

  12. I also have a horrible story to share who should i contact to share it?
    Airbnb We got their reservation confirmation email and then be there and prepare to find out your reservation is not really confirmed bc the host does not know what a InstantBook means and Airbnb support service shows no responsibility whatsoever that you are now in the middle of the street w your child and grandma in the car at 10pm. Most of the hotels are also packed but then they offer you $150 as compensation and send you go fishing. Then you are decided to not let them ruin your entire vacation then you pay more than twice the price of a stay and change hotels 4 times during your trip. This is Airbnb folks… #airbnb #fail #ruinyourvacation

  13. During my 2 month stay in Crete via airbnb I had NO LESS THAN 3 sexual predators as hosts!!!!!! I am a serious woman and will never again use airbnb. It is also CRAZY how misleading descriptions/photos are plus how indiscriminately positive the reviews are. Holes in the wall are made into villas etc. What a nightmare!

  14. airbnb is a service that people choose instead of a hotel room where you are somewhat safe and if there is no room they will accommodate you the best. When you book Airbnb, you are going to a strangers house not really knowing what to expect but the best. things could go wrong for sure since its a stranger meeting another one.

  15. Dear Audience:

    To date, September 19th, 2016, I’ve had only four AirBnB experiences. 1 of them was excellent, the other was OK, 1 was sooo bad with the mole smell and everything filthy that i actually, was forced to check into the Holiday Inn Express, and now the 1 i’m currently staying is OK enough for four (7) nights. Will NOT be using AirBnB again any time soon. It’s tooo FUNKY. You don’t get anything of value up to $62.00/night. If you are going to spend more than $62.00/ night, go to a hotel. Do NOT believe the photos. Do NOT! Photos do NOT capture mole and mole smell. Photos do NOT capture what you will walk into when you arrive. Photos do NOT capture the area where you will reside. NEVER Book anything longer than four (4) nights! DO NOT! Also, be careful of REVIEWS! Most may NOT be at your standard. Again, what is GREAT for someone is NOT OUTSTANDING for you. This business of Airbnb is DICEY at best!

    PROBLEM
    AirBnB MUST/NEEDS to hire an independent Company that travels on their behalf and inspect these places in advance. There is NOT any other solution. Photos lie, taking things on face / surface is the farce. It simply doesn’t work! Why not? Because everyone has her or his own idea of cleanliness and standards. What may be filthy to one person is OK to another; especially people who have poor personal hygiene.

    AirBnB option is NOT a hotel. This is where people as me make the HUGE blunder. AirBnB option is the alternative to a hotel. It is NOT a hotel option. NO, it is NOT! Now i’m attempting to convince me that it is someone’s personal setup … not a Company…Organization. People, PLEASE remember this; it is NOT a hotel. You can’t complain, or change rooms, or get a refund, or Book new or get an upgrade! NO, you cannot! Think long and hard before you do an AirBnB. PLEASE!

    AirBnB has ZERO standards. NONE! They tell you flat out, “that’s not what we do.” Therefore, whatever you get, you must take. HORRIFIC!

    AirBnB experience is like the lottery, most of the x, especially if you are on a budget, you will lose and your entire trip/visit, whatever will be ruined. I.e., dirty shower, smelly toilet area, even when you turn the fan on, dirty sheets and pillow cases, dirty mattress, dingy curtains. old used towels, some with CUM stains…terrible. Yeah, it happened to me. AirBnB doesn’t give a SHIT! NO, it doesn’t! All AirBnB cares about is getting paid… stick it to the traveler with outrageous fees and taxes. Some people charging as much as $165.00 as cleaning fee. You walk into the place and there is a dog on the bed. with its dirt and on pillow dog stuff… NIGHTMARE, HORROR SHOW. DESPICABLE!

    HELP!

  16. I also had a horrible experience with Airbnb. The guy is listed as a Superhost. How I don’t know. It’s infested with cockroaches. In addition he falsely advertises his rooms & you have no idea what you will get. He over books the rooms, makes you change rooms or tells you to stay in a hotel. He also has fierce flea infected dogs on the property & one bite my husband. And yes people steal your things, eat your food or take over communal space so it can’t be used. Airbnb does nothing!!

  17. Fraud, last minute cancellations and terrible customer service. That was my Air BNB experience.
    o About a month prior to my visit, I booked a stay in a foreign city through Air BNB.
    o 5 days prior to the stay, the booking is cancelled by the host.
    o Day 5-3: 2 days are spent trying to book a new property. Effort results in mysterious emails, direct from host, requesting that we wire transfer funds to an account in the Ukraine. We determine this is likely fraud.
    o Day 3: I post a question through their “help” section of the Air BNB website alerting them that I think one of their hosts is actively using their site to commit wire fraud, and I am advised to post a review on the hosts’ website.
    o Day 3-2: attempt to book another location, but host rejects in order to accept a different booking request.
    o Day 2-1: limit my search to bookings that are instant. This greatly reduces options, and requires some inconvenient compromise, but I request a booking and it is quickly accepted. I am asked to go through a “verification process” which includes a lot of personal questions, and it is my understanding all is well and accepted.
    o Day 0 – notified that our booking is cancelled due to “We’ve discovered that the payment method used for reservation XXXX isn’t valid.” I check with my credit card and there are no issues, so I have no idea what this means or why I am now without a place stay. I have sent several emails asking what happened, and have yet to receive a reply.
    o Day 0 – try to login to AirBNB help center to see if any other support is available, and find out my account was disabled. I requested that the account be enabled, and I have never received a response.

    So, I am left stranded the day I arrive in a city in a foreign country by Air BNB with no access to account support, no place to stay and no answers to questions. Thank heavens for Expedia and free wifi.

    Question: my credit card was checked and was clear. This was my first booking with Air BNB. I am very confused about my account inactivation. Was my account inactivated because I complained about fraud?

    My biggest concern: Air BNB, to the best of my knowledge, has never investigated or made any effort to remove the fraudulent host that requested a wire transfer of funds, since the only follow up I received from them was a suggestion that I post comments on the host site. I find this very concerning since the host is likely perpetuating fraud through their site. Since my account was inactivated, I cannot post a negative review. I believe that it is likely that AirBNB has done absolutely nothing about this thief posting as a host.

  18. Airbnb ripped off my money and host compained that i took the key where they charged 200$ they have done multile fake transations on my account please dont rip money the place where i stayed was such a dirty place worst than anything since i had no alternate i had to stay for 2 nights and vacated.

  19. Contrary to those stories above, I have had nothing but good stays in Air BnB accommodation. I have stayed in 1 place in Western Australia, 2 on the south island of New Zealand and 10 in Europe ( Venice, La Spezia, Florence, Naples, Rome, Athens, 3 in the Pelopponese , Santorini)Maybe I’ve just been lucky.

  20. This Company doesn’t work properly. As an owner you have very few information on the guests, no copy of ID, no postal address once somebody want to book your property.
    You don’t know who is coming in your property, you don’t even have all the names of all the guests… so Airbnb just ask you to say “YES” to your guests without any informations. Once the booking is accepted, most of the time guests are reluctant to give more information , even just a copy of ID or the postal address. You don’t have any contract signed by the guests, if you have pb with him, it’s complicated to call Airbnb. By experience I called them on time when I guest did not come for check out and did not give back my keys… the answer of the call center was “I have to close this phone call because you don’t give me the right 4 last digit of your bank account number” which BTW was wrong. They have a pb with their IT apparently… I had my bank statement in front of me with the credit transaction AIRBNB…
    Anyway no help at all from Airbnb , when you have a pb, don’t count on them… no help at all… and as they have the deposit … so if you need to be reimburse of damages by the deposit … just nothing, no contract, no deposit, no help from Airbnb. Very bad experience. I was obliged to change 2 lockers at my charge…
    I must say also that the most of the time Airbnb provides bad people who wants travel discreetly without giving their ID and basic information about them. I had guests visited by several prostitutes. This never happened before with other websites… Airbnb does not care, they manage the payment and the deposit and you just have to shut your mouth…
    If you don’t want have pb, or you care your home, believe me avoid them…

  21. Booked a place. Expected to pay in miles. It came back and booked us in an exorbitant amount of points. Is bullshit. Don’t use them. Too much difficulty. Can you say vrbo?

  22. We booked a place in Omegna for 3 nights, on Lake Orta in May this year. Looked nice in thephotos but was a dump. It advertised a private beach on the lake and the photos, (apparently photo shopped) showed stairs which appeared to lead down to the lake. In fact the Private beach was several kilometers away.. the place was nothing like the ad overlooked a railway line, old and worn out dark and dank appartment..all AIRBNB would do was refund one night so we lost 2 nights fees, plus AIRBNB fees plus cleaning fees all pre paid and then had to rent a hotel. They obviously never check to see if the place being advertised is real or if it is anything like what its supposed to be and when you need them they are uncontactable. Yiu cant do a review once you cancel and you cant get your money back either..DONT USE AIRBNB, use reliable and genuine sites who do give a damn about the customer!

  23. Booked accommodation in Manhattan NYC with a female Latino and confirmed 24 hrs prior to departure from Australia. Seven hours late due to airline issues and when I arrived, a male was opening the door to the apartment where I was booked to stay. He closed the door as he stated that he did not know her and I was left with a flat mobile at 1240AM. I asked a complete stranger to assist me and when she rang her, she was half a klm down the street and around the corner but did not have the decency to come and meet met. ‘Where have you been? You are seven hours late and I have been waiting for you all day. I have wasted my whole day because of you’. I was taken to a substandard accommodation in disrepair – air conditioner hanging out of the wall, sink/stove/fridge with no bench space was the kitchen, bathroom tiles were never grouted, dirty and loose and the bath was porous and unhygienic. Upstairs was lacking in any form of soundproofing so every movement from an insomniac was heard and no sleep. Contacted Airbnb after my return to Australia (seven week trip) and TOO LATE TO COMPLAIN. They they asked me for photos which I was ready to send to them and they closed my case without any communication with me. Clearly there is profit to be made in NYC accommodation and they do not want to delist these profit making ventures. BEWARE OF MANHATTAN AIRBNB OPERATORS.

  24. BEWARE OF THIS HOST in NYC!
    https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/15635630
    I am sharing my experience so that no one else books a strict policy booking with this host and loses their money. I accepted a lower priced invitation (1200 USD) to sleep in this hosts living room for the month of January. She encouraged me to book and pay immediately since there were other interested parties. I did. Unfortunately, 2 days later, a family emergency arose and I realized I would have to cancel the stay. I immediately contacted the host so that she could re-book with the other interested parties and reimburse me. This is when I discovered that she had imposed a strict policy on the booking. I did not even know such existed since, in my experience, normal and fair business practices are flexible bookings. The strict policy means that NO MATTER WHAT, you do not get any money back. Family illness, death, force major-doesn’t matter. The host declined to pay back the 1200 or any part there-of -even though she had ample time to find someone else and I was not due to arrive for a few days.
    As a landlord, if a tenants plans change, I try to reimburse what I can.
    I would not keep a full months rent when I have the possibility to find a new tenant. I find that such an extreme position shows lack of class and character.

    I have always had positive Airbnb experiences but the fact that they even allow such a policy makes no sense to me. There are hosts offering real private rooms (not living rooms) at similar rates and they offer flexible bookings. Most people are reasonable . Things happen in life. Unless you are prepared to throw away money on services not received I would not risk a strict booking with this host or any other hosts on AirBnB. Flexible bookings are another matter. But make sure you check!

  25. Hi. Be aware about this host:
    https://www.airbnb.com.br/users/show/30689353

    I was in my honey moon and there was a flight strike in Greece days before my trip to Santorini. My flights were canceled and I had to cancel my reservation there, since I could not reach the island. I asked for a refund, and the host just did not accept any explanation nor the documents that I had sent to her. She was really unflexible and the problem was not solved yet.

    I tried all ways to explain politely that I need the money back and this was the right think to do, but it seems that the host do not think like that. I really recommend for all people avoid staying at this place, since the idea of a trip is to stay with nice and honest people and that is not the case at this place.

  26. HELP needed. ASAP.
    airbnb website offers video shooting for verification. Although, it does not sense it is done (or does not accept it, I do not know), but I just lost the reservation.
    Is there any glitch in your system????

  27. Had also a terrible experience. I booked a room in Mexico City based on the amazing reviews. The place was filthy and so noisy. I had no choice but to wash bathroom and kitchen. The host was a disaster. She left all dirty dishes on the table all day.
    Today someone knocked on the door, I didn’t open as I didn’t know the person. So they left a note to the host saying that she hasn’t paid 3 months rent, and they her landlord will take legal action. Beside all that I found our today that the place is located only a few streets away from a very dodgy area called Tepito.

  28. We stayed at a place called one of a kind condo in missoula montana, the condo itself was nice on the outside but the i side was dirty and had garbage all over the floor we had to wash glasses before we could use them even. They sent us all over town to get keys because they were living in spokane which took a good hour. We tried to give them a kind review but then 2 weeks later they sent us a request for $150 more saying we brought a dog to their place and it pooped and left hair all over the place😡 None of which was true!!!! How do people get away with being so dishonest!!!!

  29. Quality of service falls.
    I am extremely unhappy.
    My account is locked, because of some sort of security for me. A guest came to me through the AirBnB service, but the money remained in the blocked account. To my bank account, I could not translate. For this reason, I will have to explain to the guest that he should look for another apartment for rent.

  30. I stayed at a very dangerous place and AIRBNB changed my 2 star rating to a 5 star rating … all they care about is the money !!!!!!!!!!!! I’m cancelling my account and will stick with hotels in future at least they are safe.

  31. Brother in the hospital in critical care. Verification process is not responsive, now the family has to move to an expensive hotel. The verification process is flawed
    dave s

  32. I’ve had an absolute nightmare with an airb&b host. Clare Gordon Puller who’s B&B is in Chichester rented me a room for 7 weeks. She agreed that I could have a guest stay and that I could organise for post to be sent to the property.

    For the last week she went on holiday, and so I did t see her before I left.

    After which I asked for a receipt as it was a professional engagement at the theatre which she understood.

    Now 6 months later, she has only contacted me after I have threatened to report her to HMRC for undeclared earnings and now making up some awful stories to avoid sending a receipt.

    Most importantly, the B&B, Woodside on South Bank in Chichester is so filthy it’s unreal. The rooms are acceptable enough, and are large but the kitchen and actual living area are so engraved with animal smell and mess that it’s enough to make one nauseous. And I like cats and dogs.

    The Cats and Dog will come into the rooms upstairs and every morning the cats had left mess downstairs.

    Honestly it’s just disgusting.

    What on earth can you do? Of course as soon as I arribed she convinced me to pay cash, which I did.

    Just a nightmare. 🙁

    Avoid Woodside, South Bank, Chichester at all costs!!!!

  33. I went on AirBNB looking to get a place in Beverly Hills for a business trip I had to take and I received the worst ‘customer service’ possible!

    I will admit, I did try to book a day or two before my trip and I guess there’s some setting where the host can block immediate booking. Well, this woman told me she was going to see if I could book her AirBNB. She told me to wait an hour. (this lady really wasted my time, airbnb’s were going fast in this area) I waited 3 hours. I messaged her 3 times – once each hour – just for her to tell me I couldn’t book her place! I understood, I said ok and moved on. She felt the need to rub it in my face that her place was very nice, better than the pictures. Ok, I understood. I was going to be back in town in 2 weeks so I asked, TWO WEEKS IN ADVANCE, if I could book her place. I sent a request, this lady f’king ignored me!! Mind you she was replying just fine the day before. My request expired so I wrote to her again and submitted another request thinking maybe she just didn’t have time today… No, AGAIN this lady ignored me!

    Why are you going to be a host on AirBNB if you’re going to be a jerk like that?? Amy in Beverly Hills SUCKS.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *