Airbnb Guest Stories

These are the most recent 25 stories from real Airbnb Guests.  Read More Airbnb Guest Stories.

VRBO

Airbnb Hell: Forced to Cancel Reservation First

I will never use Airbnb again. My host canceled our reservation in New York City because he got fined. He contacted me but did not contact Airbnb. So I had to cancel the reservation online. Now have to wait up to 48 hours for the host to respond. I made the horrible mistake of calling Airbnb. I […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Extremely Rude Airbnb Host in Rome

First of all, the host was no help at all when we asked about parking so we ended up checking in that evening looking for a safe 24-hour parking spot. It was too late for the host to reply about the parking situation and since English was not his first language, we had a miscommunication. […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Charged by Airbnb without a Reservation

Even though I did not make a reservation for an accommodation, they sent me email, stating that my reservation was completed. I called to inform them I did not make a reservation and an associate there told me that the Trust and Safety Team would contact me within 24-48 hours. They did not. Worse yet, they […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Stuck in a Long-Term Airbnb Nightmare

We booked the Casa Iguana Hotel and Suites in Mismaloya, Mexico. Advertised was an equipped kitchen, hot tub, swimming pool, wifi, and mini market, with the pictures showing a waterfall cascading into the pool. We are booked from January 6th to February 24th. We are still here. We have tried contacting Airbnb to no avail. […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Airbnb Host Wanted Guests to Feel the Heat

We arrived at a rental for an entire house ($1200 US for three nights) with high expectations as it was advertised with air conditioning in the amenities. The host (Adam) was not there but left his cell phone number. On arrival, we found a single wall air conditioning unit in the first floor hall and turned it on. […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Terrible Airbnb Experiences Over Two Years

I joined Airbnb as a member in December 2015 and have used the platform nine times to book overseas accommodation until January 2017. However, there were problems with two of the rooms I booked in France last January. I have filed complaints with Airbnb, but their willingness and ability to resolve customer complaints is insufficient. I […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Airbnb Glitch and Error with Payment Account

Last night, using my own Airbnb account but my mother’s credit card, I booked accommodation in Kiev and Prague. I spoke to my mother earlier and she asked me why she had received messages and emails addressed to her. I was confused because I had not received any emails. I had used my own account […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Airbnb Nightmare for Australians in NYC

I sent the email below to the Airbnb consultant who handled our initial complaint, but have now received a computer generated response saying that “this case is closed.” I cannot access the Airbnb site without agreeing to the new Terms and Conditions, which I am loathe to do until this matter is resolved. I need to […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Uncomfortable Airbnb Experience in California

I booked an Airbnb for the first time for a recent two-week stay in the Los Angeles area. I was messaging the female host who sounded pleasant but upon arrival was greeted by her “boyfriend” who I was never even told lived there. He helped me with my luggage and I was taken to my […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Sewage Leak Caused Flood of Human Excrement into Airbnb

My girlfriend and I were staying in Playa Del Carmen. When we arrived at our Airbnb, we were told that we had to move to a different unit due to plumbing issues in our original Airbnb. We were there for a music festival in which we had $500 invested per ticket. The second night we […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Giving up on Airbnb after Colorado Stay

There was dust, dirt, bugs, pet hair, cat poop, and an odor throughout the house. I told the host before I booked that I was allergic to pets and she said it would not be an issue. This was not true as the pet hair, dander, and poop smells had me wishing I had only booked […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

“You have to use the Resolution Center, sir.”

I made a reservation for three weeks in Coral Gables, Florida. Based on the information in the listing, it looked perfect for my daughter and me. I’m 70 years old but my daughter is 38 and positively brilliant. She took a look at the listing and said “Dad, did you see these reviews? They’re pretty […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | 1 Comment

Left in the Dark: Abandoned in the UK

I travelled in the UK Sunday for my one-night stay, planning to arrive late evening at 10:00 PM. During the day the host asked if I would switch to an alternate property. I understand now that this is common tactic from disreputable hosts. When I arrived at the property, there were three people having a discussion in […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Airbnb Cancellations and then Double Bookings

I have been an Airbnb user for the past three years and was always happy with it. So much so that I encouraged my workplace to use Airbnb instead of hotels. When I first tried to book an apartment for a business trip, I got three cancellations for dubious reasons or no reason at all. Given […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Unsanitary Airbnb Stay in Anaheim, California

I am not sure who to reach out regarding my recent Airbnb stay in Anaheim. I am conflicted between leaving a negative review for my host or contacting Airbnb. Christine was responsive and genuinely a nice person when I meet her but the place that she hosted was not sanitary. She met with me and […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | 1 Comment

Drug-Addled Maniac Damages Guests’ Car

Six of us paid to stay at this Airbnb for three nights, from January 13-15th. The first two nights went great; we met some of the people who lived in the house and it was peaceful and pleasant. On the third night (Sunday the 15th), one of the people who lived in the house, Q, told […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Nasty Review When Host Provided an Uninhabitable Property

I booked a stay at what was described as a beautiful retreat in the Yosemite area. My friends flew in from across the country to join me on a hiking trip in Yosemite and we were excited to be going. Dan, the owner, was very happy to rent to me, and it was all set […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Airbnb College Party Bachelor Pad with a Breeze

When you’re traveling alone for business, you would think it might be nice to save a few dollars and spend it elsewhere by getting an Airbnb a few minutes away from the conference you’re attending. I can put up with a lot but when you start to feel like a vagrant in a homeless shelter, […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Airbnb Construction Holiday in Palm Springs

My daughter and I have taken a yearly road trip to Palm Springs during Spring Break for the last four years. Last March, we rented a 3-bedroom and 2.5-bath townhouse in a small gated development just a block off Palm Canyon Drive. It was a two-story building, so I took the master bedroom upstairs and […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | 1 Comment

Scammed on Airbnb: Account Hacked

I received notification for a booking in San Diego for “my nephew and niece” (neither of which I have) and that I was charged £427. Luckily the credit card company has taken this seriously. We did not make a booking. The apartment owner has got the police involved and is endeavouring to sort something out on […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Cheap China Airbnb Host from Hell

I had been receiving kind and warm Airbnb experiences until one month ago when I was in a rush booking a room for myself. The problem was that I did not carefully check the comments left on the webpage about the house. I was desperately in need of a place to rest immediately somewhere as close […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Beautiful Airbnb in Thailand Infested with Rats

We rented a beautiful two bedroom house with a pool about five minutes from Ao Nang in Thailand for six nights. Within the first day I thought I was seeing rats but just brushed it off. Well, over the rest of our stay I saw them everyday. I emailed our host and let him know […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Airbnb Retreat Offers No Hot Tub in Palm Springs

Is there no way to contact Airbnb directly to present a major complaint? This was the first holiday season in 40 years that my husband was able to take off work. We had a wonderful and very expensive Christmas vacation planned for us, with our grown sons and their significant others, in Palm Springs. We […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

My First and Last Airbnb Stay, Accused of Damages

I graduated recently from school, and my parents were visiting me for graduation from outside of US. I decided to take them to Florida, and I booked my first Airbnb. Being a first timer on Airbnb, I was very cautious of everything. I tried to keep the entire house clean and tidy, and I tried […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Airbnb Host with Moral Issues Yelled at Guests

Here is a description of how we were moral policed and character assassinated during our stay at a host’s residence. Some details are left out due to the sheer number of these instances we had to put up with during our stay. The description of the place on the listing was not even close to […]

Posted in Guest Stories | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

 

Read More Airbnb Guest Stories.

Do you have an Airbnb story to tell?  Share it HERE!

 


VRBO

33 Comments

  1. Pingback: Better Read This Before You Use Airbnb for the First Time

  2. Pingback: Airbnb’s Elephant in the Room | Spirit by Design

  3. I’m another who had a HORRIBLE experience with Air BnB. Me and my boyfriend showed up to the Air BnB that we rented in Montreal, which had great reviews online. The first night, we went out and when we came home later in the evening, placed our keys on the glass table and chatted with 2 friends. No TV was on. No music was on. The host came over and knocked on the door… Prior to this he hadn’t even told us he lived next door and actually went out of his way to pretend he didn’t… coming from around the street any time he met us. We said ok and kicked out our guests (Thanks, DAD.) but continued to chat, just us 2. The owner came over a second time to tell us to shut up. Ok, fine, we went to bed. The next day, he came back again and chastised us for the night before, again we apologized and he said fine but I’m doing an inspection to make sure you didn’t put holes in the walls, etc. I offered to leave for the second night we had booked and he said whatever. We booked a hotel and left right away- losing the money that we had paid for the second night in this Air bnb. I should also note that at 6am, there was extremely loud banging on the walls, screaming from children and children running non-stop, ALL DAY. The host then proceeded to text message me extremely rude things, asking where I lived and where I was in Montreal that night and was telling me that even though he did indeed say the place was fine and he had the keys, that he was calling the cops. I still have no idea why. Overall, pretty much our entire trip was ruined- we were broke after having to find another place; the first night was ruined cause we were literally told to go to bed (with the assumption that we’d be on the street if we didn’t soon) and the next day was annoying and very unpleasant with the children sounding like they were hanging out in the apartment with us; the host even managed to blacken the second day when we were finally far away from him, by harassing me via text.

    • It’s almost like you’re sugar coating or leaving out some information. Were you allowed to have guests over? In my home, guests are not allowed. Like most hotels, unauthorized guests are a liability. Not to mentioned non paying guests staying overnight. Then you say he came over to shut you up. So that tells me you were being an unruly guest. Many times guests just don’t read the house rules.

  4. Hello!
    This is second notice we have sent to Airbnb and still no any actions… if they are not acting then this letter we will send to another institutions in Spain.
    Decided to inform you regarding one of our hosts where we stayed before.
    Yury Geraskin in Barcelona, Carrer de Biscaia 383, floor 4.
    These are several reasons you to know about this host for your own security:
    1. He stays in Spain illegally (no any documents to stay in Spain and overstayed his visa more than a year).
    2. Not paying taxes to government to do this activity (can be caught any moment by neighbors complaint).
    3. Selling for cash to AirBnB clients who decided to stay more in his apartment.

    He can be caught by police any moment and all of Airbnb guests will lose their living for what they have paid!

    Hope you can make AirBnB more secure.
    Tnx!

  5. The photos of properties are often phony, from years ago when the property was new, etc. Do not trust them or the hosts. When we arrived in Los Angeles the property was so bad I was not sure it was the place I booked.
    The host was dishonest about the property and Airbnb promised a full refund and I received nothing.

    Stay away or somewhere you can trust.

  6. I stayed in an airbnb in St Andrews, Scotland. The host said he would be away and that the house might not be so tidy. he was right. The place was filthy. I was unsure which room to sleep in and there was a see through curtain on the window, no bedding. I did have my own sleeping back. I notified airbnb. No response. The host wrote a fairly abrupt response on his site. No action was taken. However, other guests complained about the exact same issues. Five months on and no one has taken any action. An apology would have been nice.

  7. My gf created a account in a year before, after few times the account has been blocked and we call hundred Times to the customer service. Due this year, I reopened a new account, after two booking, the account have been blocked AGAIN!!! Airbnb is nothing but a piece of crap. A year passed We try to contact with Airbnb to solve this issue, and the result is the same as last year, very disppointed, I mean how this rubbish can operate for so long, delete it. If you finally wake up.

  8. When logged in, prices are higher and a service fee is attached. When not, the prices are lower and no service fee.

  9. Had a horrible experience 3 weeks ago in Tuscany. Property had good reviews and turned out to be a total dump and airbnb has been less than helpful. We did everything right, have facts on our side and they are actually ignorning us completely – no refund for us it seems. Acting like we did something wrong or had wrong expectations. I have lived on 4 continents, have stayed in everything from camp sites to youth hostelf and 5 star hotels – I know what I should be paying for decent lodging. I thought airbnb was a reputable company…they are scam artists and amateurs.

  10. I had a terrible experience just recently. I booked a dog-friendly cottage, and notified host I would be bringing my very well-behaved pet. The 4 night stay was paid for, plus a cleaning fee. She also required a $325 deposit. The day of arrival she had been at the cottage but did not stay to meet us. There was a lockbox, so we let ourselves in. On the table inside was a list of house rules, that also stated that the dishwasher and washer-dryer were not working, and that she had a “very bad ant problem.”. None of this was mentioned prior to our arrival. On the second page was a paragraph “agreement” (that we had no notice she would require) stating she needed an additional $100 deposit, and that she would charge if the pet damaged anything. I did not sign it, nor did I call or contact AirBnb about the defects in her property. The stay was okay – except for a trail of ants waking me up and crawling all over me in the bed!!! And not being able to wash and dry my clothes after outdoor activities. etc. (BTW, We had no food or drink near the bed. I dealt with the ants. I did not launch a complaint.) Before leaving, we washed and dried every dish used. We wiped down counters and sinks We hung up towels. We got rid of all trash, even removing entirely from the property dog waste from the yard and cat waste that was not our responsibility – she had not outdoor trash so we actually carted it away. We folded blankets and put them away. Despite paying a cleaning fee, we cleaned everything we could. There was no vacuum or mop in the house. I would have even popped the linens in the washer, but we were told not to use it. We left everything where we found it. Two days later I received a claim and statement from her that our dog peed in her house and it was “trashed” and she was demanded our $325 deposit. I was completely befuddled. My dog has never urinated in any house or hotel, and I have had him 6 years. And he was with us 100% of the time. She posted a photo of a smudge on the floor wax to “prove” he had. What she did not know is that he is a large male dog who lifts his leg and if he peed in her house, it would have been all over the walls or furniture! She also claimed we put a scratch in her new refrigerator and on her counter. I don’t believe we did this, and she has no proof that we did. For this, and cleaning, she demands $325. The claim was nutty, and I engaged in online back and forth with her. The claim is in now in AirBnB’s hands, but as a responsible person, who has stayed in dozens of hotels and non-AirBnB rentals with my dog, with zero problems, this whole process has been infuriating. She saw a smudge in her floor wax, made an incorrect assumption, and went looking for problems. And this was my first AirBnB rental. Sigh. My daughter has used without issue. But this has unnerved me. It makes me want to stay in hotels and use bona-fide vacation rental properties, which have a proper process in place, and professional management. With AirBnB, you are dealing with individuals, who have wildly varying mental health,, temperametns, and expectations, and often zero professionalism, because of the nature of the business. It’s just too much risk.

  11. As an airbnb host I have come to see that Airbnb is 100% about making money, not responsible hosting.

    – Reviews are unreliable, they are only published if both parties make a review so if either party suspects they will get a bad review they simply don’t make one.

    – In Ecuador, where we host, permission must be obtained from the local authorities to rent or offer hospitality, which means they must adhere to certain standards and pay yearly fees and taxes and are accountable if guests have any complaints.
    Airbnb take no responsibility to ensure their listings are legal and continue to list properties that have been reported as illegal all over Ecuador, these properties are mostly run by expat retirees looking for a little extra income. In the meantime, due to the enormous success of Airbnb they are putting local legitimate business’s out of business

    – Their cancellation policies are ineffective, as a small business we rely upon and work hard to keep our rentals occupied and consequently chose a strict cancellation policy, yet our guests were able to cancel their reservation ONE DAY before the start of the second month of their reservation and even though the house was left like a pig-sty and things were stolen we were unable to give a review because the reservation was cancelled! And even if we had been able to make the review it would not have been published if they had not made a counter review.

    • thank you for the information. I am looking to rent a house in Puerto Ric i. Is there a way to check to see if they have listed with the town/ agency?
      Also, this one I like has no reviews listed, good or bad, should I be concerned? And if you have any suggestions on a how to verify the legitimacy of the renter I’d greatly appreciate it.

    • That’s not true. Each party has 14 days to submit a review and after each party submits their review, it is automatically published. If only one party leaves a review, after 14 days, it is published whether the other party has left a review or not.

  12. I also have a horrible story to share who should i contact to share it?
    Airbnb We got their reservation confirmation email and then be there and prepare to find out your reservation is not really confirmed bc the host does not know what a InstantBook means and Airbnb support service shows no responsibility whatsoever that you are now in the middle of the street w your child and grandma in the car at 10pm. Most of the hotels are also packed but then they offer you $150 as compensation and send you go fishing. Then you are decided to not let them ruin your entire vacation then you pay more than twice the price of a stay and change hotels 4 times during your trip. This is Airbnb folks… #airbnb #fail #ruinyourvacation

  13. During my 2 month stay in Crete via airbnb I had NO LESS THAN 3 sexual predators as hosts!!!!!! I am a serious woman and will never again use airbnb. It is also CRAZY how misleading descriptions/photos are plus how indiscriminately positive the reviews are. Holes in the wall are made into villas etc. What a nightmare!

  14. airbnb is a service that people choose instead of a hotel room where you are somewhat safe and if there is no room they will accommodate you the best. When you book Airbnb, you are going to a strangers house not really knowing what to expect but the best. things could go wrong for sure since its a stranger meeting another one.

  15. Dear Audience:

    To date, September 19th, 2016, I’ve had only four AirBnB experiences. 1 of them was excellent, the other was OK, 1 was sooo bad with the mole smell and everything filthy that i actually, was forced to check into the Holiday Inn Express, and now the 1 i’m currently staying is OK enough for four (7) nights. Will NOT be using AirBnB again any time soon. It’s tooo FUNKY. You don’t get anything of value up to $62.00/night. If you are going to spend more than $62.00/ night, go to a hotel. Do NOT believe the photos. Do NOT! Photos do NOT capture mole and mole smell. Photos do NOT capture what you will walk into when you arrive. Photos do NOT capture the area where you will reside. NEVER Book anything longer than four (4) nights! DO NOT! Also, be careful of REVIEWS! Most may NOT be at your standard. Again, what is GREAT for someone is NOT OUTSTANDING for you. This business of Airbnb is DICEY at best!

    PROBLEM
    AirBnB MUST/NEEDS to hire an independent Company that travels on their behalf and inspect these places in advance. There is NOT any other solution. Photos lie, taking things on face / surface is the farce. It simply doesn’t work! Why not? Because everyone has her or his own idea of cleanliness and standards. What may be filthy to one person is OK to another; especially people who have poor personal hygiene.

    AirBnB option is NOT a hotel. This is where people as me make the HUGE blunder. AirBnB option is the alternative to a hotel. It is NOT a hotel option. NO, it is NOT! Now i’m attempting to convince me that it is someone’s personal setup … not a Company…Organization. People, PLEASE remember this; it is NOT a hotel. You can’t complain, or change rooms, or get a refund, or Book new or get an upgrade! NO, you cannot! Think long and hard before you do an AirBnB. PLEASE!

    AirBnB has ZERO standards. NONE! They tell you flat out, “that’s not what we do.” Therefore, whatever you get, you must take. HORRIFIC!

    AirBnB experience is like the lottery, most of the x, especially if you are on a budget, you will lose and your entire trip/visit, whatever will be ruined. I.e., dirty shower, smelly toilet area, even when you turn the fan on, dirty sheets and pillow cases, dirty mattress, dingy curtains. old used towels, some with CUM stains…terrible. Yeah, it happened to me. AirBnB doesn’t give a SHIT! NO, it doesn’t! All AirBnB cares about is getting paid… stick it to the traveler with outrageous fees and taxes. Some people charging as much as $165.00 as cleaning fee. You walk into the place and there is a dog on the bed. with its dirt and on pillow dog stuff… NIGHTMARE, HORROR SHOW. DESPICABLE!

    HELP!

  16. I also had a horrible experience with Airbnb. The guy is listed as a Superhost. How I don’t know. It’s infested with cockroaches. In addition he falsely advertises his rooms & you have no idea what you will get. He over books the rooms, makes you change rooms or tells you to stay in a hotel. He also has fierce flea infected dogs on the property & one bite my husband. And yes people steal your things, eat your food or take over communal space so it can’t be used. Airbnb does nothing!!

  17. Fraud, last minute cancellations and terrible customer service. That was my Air BNB experience.
    o About a month prior to my visit, I booked a stay in a foreign city through Air BNB.
    o 5 days prior to the stay, the booking is cancelled by the host.
    o Day 5-3: 2 days are spent trying to book a new property. Effort results in mysterious emails, direct from host, requesting that we wire transfer funds to an account in the Ukraine. We determine this is likely fraud.
    o Day 3: I post a question through their “help” section of the Air BNB website alerting them that I think one of their hosts is actively using their site to commit wire fraud, and I am advised to post a review on the hosts’ website.
    o Day 3-2: attempt to book another location, but host rejects in order to accept a different booking request.
    o Day 2-1: limit my search to bookings that are instant. This greatly reduces options, and requires some inconvenient compromise, but I request a booking and it is quickly accepted. I am asked to go through a “verification process” which includes a lot of personal questions, and it is my understanding all is well and accepted.
    o Day 0 – notified that our booking is cancelled due to “We’ve discovered that the payment method used for reservation XXXX isn’t valid.” I check with my credit card and there are no issues, so I have no idea what this means or why I am now without a place stay. I have sent several emails asking what happened, and have yet to receive a reply.
    o Day 0 – try to login to AirBNB help center to see if any other support is available, and find out my account was disabled. I requested that the account be enabled, and I have never received a response.

    So, I am left stranded the day I arrive in a city in a foreign country by Air BNB with no access to account support, no place to stay and no answers to questions. Thank heavens for Expedia and free wifi.

    Question: my credit card was checked and was clear. This was my first booking with Air BNB. I am very confused about my account inactivation. Was my account inactivated because I complained about fraud?

    My biggest concern: Air BNB, to the best of my knowledge, has never investigated or made any effort to remove the fraudulent host that requested a wire transfer of funds, since the only follow up I received from them was a suggestion that I post comments on the host site. I find this very concerning since the host is likely perpetuating fraud through their site. Since my account was inactivated, I cannot post a negative review. I believe that it is likely that AirBNB has done absolutely nothing about this thief posting as a host.

  18. Airbnb ripped off my money and host compained that i took the key where they charged 200$ they have done multile fake transations on my account please dont rip money the place where i stayed was such a dirty place worst than anything since i had no alternate i had to stay for 2 nights and vacated.

  19. Contrary to those stories above, I have had nothing but good stays in Air BnB accommodation. I have stayed in 1 place in Western Australia, 2 on the south island of New Zealand and 10 in Europe ( Venice, La Spezia, Florence, Naples, Rome, Athens, 3 in the Pelopponese , Santorini)Maybe I’ve just been lucky.

  20. This Company doesn’t work properly. As an owner you have very few information on the guests, no copy of ID, no postal address once somebody want to book your property.
    You don’t know who is coming in your property, you don’t even have all the names of all the guests… so Airbnb just ask you to say “YES” to your guests without any informations. Once the booking is accepted, most of the time guests are reluctant to give more information , even just a copy of ID or the postal address. You don’t have any contract signed by the guests, if you have pb with him, it’s complicated to call Airbnb. By experience I called them on time when I guest did not come for check out and did not give back my keys… the answer of the call center was “I have to close this phone call because you don’t give me the right 4 last digit of your bank account number” which BTW was wrong. They have a pb with their IT apparently… I had my bank statement in front of me with the credit transaction AIRBNB…
    Anyway no help at all from Airbnb , when you have a pb, don’t count on them… no help at all… and as they have the deposit … so if you need to be reimburse of damages by the deposit … just nothing, no contract, no deposit, no help from Airbnb. Very bad experience. I was obliged to change 2 lockers at my charge…
    I must say also that the most of the time Airbnb provides bad people who wants travel discreetly without giving their ID and basic information about them. I had guests visited by several prostitutes. This never happened before with other websites… Airbnb does not care, they manage the payment and the deposit and you just have to shut your mouth…
    If you don’t want have pb, or you care your home, believe me avoid them…

  21. Booked a place. Expected to pay in miles. It came back and booked us in an exorbitant amount of points. Is bullshit. Don’t use them. Too much difficulty. Can you say vrbo?

  22. We booked a place in Omegna for 3 nights, on Lake Orta in May this year. Looked nice in thephotos but was a dump. It advertised a private beach on the lake and the photos, (apparently photo shopped) showed stairs which appeared to lead down to the lake. In fact the Private beach was several kilometers away.. the place was nothing like the ad overlooked a railway line, old and worn out dark and dank appartment..all AIRBNB would do was refund one night so we lost 2 nights fees, plus AIRBNB fees plus cleaning fees all pre paid and then had to rent a hotel. They obviously never check to see if the place being advertised is real or if it is anything like what its supposed to be and when you need them they are uncontactable. Yiu cant do a review once you cancel and you cant get your money back either..DONT USE AIRBNB, use reliable and genuine sites who do give a damn about the customer!

  23. Booked accommodation in Manhattan NYC with a female Latino and confirmed 24 hrs prior to departure from Australia. Seven hours late due to airline issues and when I arrived, a male was opening the door to the apartment where I was booked to stay. He closed the door as he stated that he did not know her and I was left with a flat mobile at 1240AM. I asked a complete stranger to assist me and when she rang her, she was half a klm down the street and around the corner but did not have the decency to come and meet met. ‘Where have you been? You are seven hours late and I have been waiting for you all day. I have wasted my whole day because of you’. I was taken to a substandard accommodation in disrepair – air conditioner hanging out of the wall, sink/stove/fridge with no bench space was the kitchen, bathroom tiles were never grouted, dirty and loose and the bath was porous and unhygienic. Upstairs was lacking in any form of soundproofing so every movement from an insomniac was heard and no sleep. Contacted Airbnb after my return to Australia (seven week trip) and TOO LATE TO COMPLAIN. They they asked me for photos which I was ready to send to them and they closed my case without any communication with me. Clearly there is profit to be made in NYC accommodation and they do not want to delist these profit making ventures. BEWARE OF MANHATTAN AIRBNB OPERATORS.

  24. BEWARE OF THIS HOST in NYC!
    https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/15635630
    I am sharing my experience so that no one else books a strict policy booking with this host and loses their money. I accepted a lower priced invitation (1200 USD) to sleep in this hosts living room for the month of January. She encouraged me to book and pay immediately since there were other interested parties. I did. Unfortunately, 2 days later, a family emergency arose and I realized I would have to cancel the stay. I immediately contacted the host so that she could re-book with the other interested parties and reimburse me. This is when I discovered that she had imposed a strict policy on the booking. I did not even know such existed since, in my experience, normal and fair business practices are flexible bookings. The strict policy means that NO MATTER WHAT, you do not get any money back. Family illness, death, force major-doesn’t matter. The host declined to pay back the 1200 or any part there-of -even though she had ample time to find someone else and I was not due to arrive for a few days.
    As a landlord, if a tenants plans change, I try to reimburse what I can.
    I would not keep a full months rent when I have the possibility to find a new tenant. I find that such an extreme position shows lack of class and character.

    I have always had positive Airbnb experiences but the fact that they even allow such a policy makes no sense to me. There are hosts offering real private rooms (not living rooms) at similar rates and they offer flexible bookings. Most people are reasonable . Things happen in life. Unless you are prepared to throw away money on services not received I would not risk a strict booking with this host or any other hosts on AirBnB. Flexible bookings are another matter. But make sure you check!

  25. Hi. Be aware about this host:
    https://www.airbnb.com.br/users/show/30689353

    I was in my honey moon and there was a flight strike in Greece days before my trip to Santorini. My flights were canceled and I had to cancel my reservation there, since I could not reach the island. I asked for a refund, and the host just did not accept any explanation nor the documents that I had sent to her. She was really unflexible and the problem was not solved yet.

    I tried all ways to explain politely that I need the money back and this was the right think to do, but it seems that the host do not think like that. I really recommend for all people avoid staying at this place, since the idea of a trip is to stay with nice and honest people and that is not the case at this place.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *